Electro Acoustic Orchestra

The Electro-Acoustic Orchestra (director – Doug Van Nort) is an ensemble comprised of a mixture of acoustic and electronic performers. It is an emergent sonic organism that evolves through collective attention to all facets of sound, soundpainting-based conducting and improvisational practice. The EAO performs a range of pieces by its members, invited guest artists and from the experimental music repertoire.

The ensemble functions both as a music course during the Fall semester, as well as the year-round resident ensemble for the DisPerSion Lab. EAO integrates members from York and the larger Toronto electroacoustic and improvising communities.

Current members are Brian Abbott, Michael Brown, Chris Anderson-Lundy, David Bandi, Aaron Corbett, Darlene Dunn, Glen Hall, Rory Hoy, Ian Jarvis, Ian Macchiusi, Kieran Maraj, Sam Mason, Mackenzie Perrault, Paul Petrocelli, Danny Shehan, Sean Stover, Adam Walters, and Lauren Wilson.

Past members: Robert Appleton, Chris Cerpnjak, Matt Miller, Sabatino Muccilli, Liz Petzold, Michael Palumbo, Carlos deLeon, Peter Elleman, Marcello Fiorini, Alex Laurie, Mark Mcgugan, Caleb Martin, Fae Sirois